States Requiring Education

StateExamEducation
CaliforniaNew and renewing NotariesNew Notaries — 6 hours
Renewing Notaries — 3 hours
ColoradoNew Notaries onlyNew Notaries must take an educational course
ConnecticutOn commission application 
Delaware Yes for electronic Notaries, including continuing education
D.C.Scheduled orientation session 
Florida 3 hours live or interactive; New Notaries only
GuamYes 
HawaiiYes 
LouisianaYes (non-attorneys) 
MaineOn commission application 
Missouri Yes: New and renewing Notaries; online or written course
MontanaYes 
NebraskaYes: Open-book 
Nevada 3 hours: New Notaries and existing Notaries who violate any provision of chapter 240, NRS
New YorkNew Notaries and Notaries whose commissions have lapsed by more than 6 months 
N. CarolinaYes (NC attorneys exempted).New Notaries: 6-hour course (NC attorneys exempted); New education requirement for Notaries wishing to perform electronic notarizations
OhioYes: In most counties; Type of exam varies by countyNot required by law, but offered in many counties as preparation for the examination
OregonOn commission application3 hours for new commission applicants
Pennsylvania Currently new Notaries only — 3 hours live or interactive
Puerto RicoYes (civil law tradition)The educational requirement for attorneys
UtahYes 
WyomingCompletion of the online test is “encouraged, but not mandatory”